Select Your Cookie Preferences

We use cookies and similar tools that are necessary to enable you to make purchases, to enhance your shopping experiences and to provide our services, as detailed in our Cookie Notice. We also use these cookies to understand how customers use our services (for example, by measuring site visits) so we can make improvements.

If you agree, we’ll also use cookies to complement your shopping experience across the Amazon stores as described in our Cookie Notice. This includes using first- and third-party cookies, which store or access standard device information such as a unique identifier. Third parties use cookies for their purposes of displaying and measuring personalised ads, generating audience insights, and developing and improving products. Click ‘Customise Cookies’ to decline these cookies, make more detailed choices, or learn more. You can change your choices at any time by visiting Cookie Preferences, as described in the Cookie Notice. To learn more about how and for what purposes Amazon uses personal information (such as Amazon Store order history), please visit our Privacy Notice.

Customise Cookies

What Happens When I Close My Account?

When you submit a request for us to permanently close your Amazon account and delete your data, all open orders, including subscriptions (Amazon Prime, Subscribe and Save, etc.) will be canceled and you'll lose access to services and digital content associated with your account. Once your account is closed, it is no longer accessible by you or anyone else; you won't be able to access your order history or print a proof of purchase or an invoice. This also affects related customer accounts, features, and services that are linked to your email address and password across any Amazon sites globally.

If you have uploaded your own content in one of our services (e.g. Amazon Photos) you may want to download that content before closing your account.

Closing your account permanently means you won't have access to the products and services associated with your closed account, including:

  • Your customer profile including your reviews, discussion posts, returns and refunds for orders.
  • Your Amazon Web Services (AWS) account and the resources in your account.
  • Your Prime memberships will be cancelled across all Amazon websites.
  • Your Amazon Selling Partner account associated with your Amazon account, and the data associated with that account and Seller Central.
  • Your Amazon Associates Programs account.
  • Amazon Pay. This includes:
    • Viewing past orders and filing Amazon Pay A-to-Z Guarantee claims.
    • Purchases using Amazon Pay that have not yet been billed and closed prior to closing your Amazon account may still be charged based on the merchant’s shipment timing.
    • Any subscriptions where Amazon Pay is the payment method will have to be updated with a new payment method. It is your obligation to provide the subscription provider with a new payment method for billing.
  • Your available Amazon Gift Cards balance will no longer be available for you to spend.
    • You can check your balance on the Gift Cards Balance and Ledger page. You will not be able to redeem any additional Amazon Gift Cards.
    • Any Gift Cards you have sent to other customers can still be redeemed on their accounts.
    • Any third-party gift cards purchased from Amazon will still be valid at those third-party websites.
    • If you have purchased gift cards on behalf of a Corporate incentive program, you must unenroll from that Corporate Gift Card program with the Corporate account manager.
  • Your AmazonDx Account
  • Your Digital Content and Services:
    • Your Prime Video account including watchlist, recommendations, subscriptions, and videos (including videos you purchased).
    • Your Amazon Music purchases, playlists and content.
    • Your Amazon Photos (previously Amazon Drive) account and all account content.
    • Your Audible profile and membership(s), credits, and access to your Audible content (audiobooks, podcasts, etc.).
    • Your Kindle content and subscriptions, and any notes or annotations created through your account.
  • Your Kindle Direct Publishing account.
  • Author Central and related author's pages.
  • Your Amazon Appstore purchases and available coins.
  • Your Amazon device(s), such as Echo, Tablets, E-Readers, Fire TV etc., will no longer be registered to your Amazon account, and you will no longer have access to Amazon services on your device(s) unless you register the device to another active account.
    • Information stored in Amazon applications on Fire tablets, such as saved contacts or calendar events, bookmarks in the Maps app, and any device backups.
    • You can download your contacts or calendar events using in-app download functionalities.
  • Alexa, the Alexa app and services available through Alexa (e.g. skills, alarms, lists, etc.) on your Alexa-enabled devices. Your voice recordings along with other Alexa content and data.
  • Your Amazon Flex account.
Note: After you close your account, we assess what information to keep. We normally choose to keep some data in line with our legal obligations, including under the Luxembourg Commercial Code, for the establishment, exercise, or defense of legal claims, and for preventing fraud / ensuring security, as envisaged by the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). For these reasons, we normally retain transactional data related to orders of a customer for products and services, for example customer name, ordered product, order date, shipping address, payment method, price and VAT. We may also keep limited personally identifying account information following account closure in order to administer these rights and obligations.

For more information on how to request the closure of your account, visit Request the Closure of Your Account and the Deletion of Your Personal Information.

Was this information helpful?

Thank you for your feedback.

Please select what best describes the information:

Thanks. While we're unable to respond directly to your feedback, we'll use this information to improve our online Help.