Buy new:
£5.00
RRP: £9.99

This is the retail price by the manufacturer or importer of the product. Amazon confirms the relevance of this RRP, on a quarterly basis, compared to prices charged by at least one competitor or Amazon.
Learn more
Save: £4.99 (50%)
& FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. For a full refund with no deduction for return shipping, you can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition.
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Tuesday, August 23 on your first eligible order to UK or Ireland. Details
Or fastest delivery Sunday, August 21. Order within 3 hrs 24 mins. Details
In stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"£5.00","priceAmount":5.00,"currencySymbol":"£","integerValue":"5","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"00","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"ORQumrPFgGPaP6E2NdHeMNkl%2BNjRbDGak8ti4DXKmZYnSeyt4iaUGmRjTd6CTLBEzz2umPBDNXq38XdOMnLbB7bgJX4STz2Qh%2FZvVJJeEUUQPaWZFkCM1%2BW%2FKBtHue6y","locale":"en-GB","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
££5.00 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
££5.00
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Dispatches from
Amazon
Sold by
Amazon
Dispatches from
Amazon
Sold by
Amazon
Return policy: Returnable within 30 days of receipt
Item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt
Share <Embed>
Have one to sell?
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more.

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Where the Crawdads Sing: Delia Owens Paperback – 12 Dec. 2019

4.7 out of 5 stars 246,651 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback, 12 Dec. 2019
£5.00
£5.00 £4.00
Note: This item is eligible for FREE Click and Collect without a minimum order subject to availability. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you subject to availability.
  • Choose from over 20,000 locations across the UK
  • FREE unlimited deliveries at no additional cost for all customers
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Enhance your purchase

School Books
From pre-school to A-levels, find School Books for all ages Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • Where the Crawdads Sing: Delia Owens
  • +
  • Verity: The thriller that will capture your heart and blow your mind
  • +
  • It Ends With Us: The emotional #1 Sunday Times bestseller
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your basket.
Choose items to buy together.

From the Publisher

Product description

Review

A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world ― New York Times Book Review

Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is
as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is movingDaily Mail

For a debut the prose is
impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievementThe Times

Kya is
a compelling character, Owen's descriptive prose is lushly impressive, and the twist in the narrative's tail is neat ― Sunday Times Culture

Owens
combines high tension with precise detail about how people dress, sound, live and eat - the case studies in her book are both human and natural . . . Surprise bestsellers are often works that chime with the times. Though set in the 1950s and 60s, Where the Crawdads Sing is, in its treatment of racial and social division and the fragile complexities of nature, obviously relevant to contemporary politics and ecology. But these themes will reach a huge audience though the writer's old-fashioned talents for compelling character, plotting and landscape descriptionthe Guardian

For
sheer escapism pick up Where The Crawdads Sing . . . there is writing that takes your breath awayThe Times (separate review)

All is not as it seems in this
heartbreaking coming-of-age bestsellerThe i newspaper

An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. ― Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review

Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet a
stonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising - with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn't put it downThe Lady

The strength of the story comes from the sympathetic portrait of its heroine
who cannot fail to captivate, right up until the surprising endUK Press Association and Independent I

Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this
fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut.People

Unsettling and tinged with sadness, yet astonishingly fresh, powerful and mesmerising - with a surprising ending that will haunt you. I couldn't put it downThe Lady

This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara KingsolverBustle

A nature-infused romance with
a killer twistRefinery29

Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya's story,
Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our livesVanity Fair

Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. ― Entertainment Weekly

A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It's clear she's from this place-the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain-you can feel it in the pages. A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely

Alexandra Fuller, New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight

This is a
heart-wrenching coming-of-age story, perfect for book clubsCandis

A story that's
evocative and sad and with a remarkable heroineImage magazine

I didn't expect such a beautifully-written, gorgeously- immersive literary novel which is also a page-turner. I spun out the last few pages because I didn't want it to end -- Bernardine Evaristo, via Twitter

Book Description

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Corsair; 1st edition (12 Dec. 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 384 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1472154665
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1472154668
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 19.4 x 2.2 x 12.4 cm
  • Customer reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 246,651 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Discover more of the author’s books, see similar authors, read author blogs and more


Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
246,651 global ratings

Top reviews from United Kingdom

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 18 July 2019
1,717 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 April 2020
586 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 February 2019
442 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 24 January 2020
274 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 March 2020
260 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 29 March 2019
287 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 June 2020
176 people found this helpful
Report abuse