Buying Options

Unlimited reading. Over 2 million titles. Learn more
Read and listen for £0.00
OR
Kindle Price: £2.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a group.
Learn more

Buying and sending Kindle Books to others

Select quantity
Choose delivery method and buy Kindle Books
Recipients can read on any device

These Kindle Books can only be redeemed by recipients in your country. Redemption links and Kindle Books cannot be resold.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more.

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

The Vanishing Tide by [Hilary Tailor]

Follow the author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Vanishing Tide Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 2,871 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£2.99

Product description

From the Publisher

Have you ever wondered about the secrets your family keeps? For years I’ve been fascinated by books about families and the secrets they bury—they take up most of the space on my bookshelf—so when I finished reading The Vanishing Tide, I knew I needed this book to join the others. Hilary Tailor has written a beautiful, haunting story of family, friendship, and the secrets that can eat away at us. I was instantly swept up in it!

After the death of her mother, Astrid—a renowned reclusive artist who was always more interested in her painting than her daughter—Isla returns to her childhood home, a cottage perched on the edge of a peninsula at the very northern tip of England. She knows this is her opportunity to finally investigate the one mystery she’s always wanted answers to: Who was the aunt who drowned in the very water that laps at the edge of their land, whose death seemed to permeate the walls of their home but was mourned by Isla’s mother in endless silence?

But no matter how many rooms, drawers, or cupboards Isla searches, she finds that her mother hid her past well. The more she digs into Astrid’s life—a life she now realizes she knew nothing about—the more she begins to question whether she is truly prepared to uncover the truth, because sometimes the truth is more dangerous than silence...

The Vanishing Tide is a richly layered family mystery that will appeal to readers of Eve Chase, Harriet Evans, and Louise Douglas. I promise you won’t be able to put this book down once you start reading!

—Victoria Oundjian, Editor

About the Author

Hilary Tailor is a design consultant, and has worked with clients including adidas and Puma as a colour and trend forecaster. She was raised on the Wirral Peninsula and graduated from the Royal College of Art. The Vanishing Tide is her first novel.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09KLJSRXJ
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Lake Union Publishing (1 Jun. 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 5415 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 332 pages
  • Customer reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 2,871 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Hilary Tailor is a design consultant, and has worked with clients including adidas and Puma as a colour and trend forecaster. She was raised on the Wirral Peninsula and graduated from the Royal College of Art. The Vanishing Tide is her first novel. Her second novel, Swimming Home, will be published in 2023.

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
2,871 global ratings

Top reviews from United Kingdom

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 May 2022
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 May 2022
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 May 2022
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 May 2022
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 May 2022
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 May 2022
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 June 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 June 2022
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?