Buying Options

Kindle Price: £3.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a group.
Learn more

Buying and sending Kindle Books to others

Select quantity
Choose delivery method and buy Kindle Books
Recipients can read on any device

These Kindle Books can only be redeemed by recipients in your country. Redemption links and Kindle Books cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more.

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde: The spellbinding mystery from the Richard & Judy bestselling author of The Glass House by [Eve Chase]

Follow the author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde: The spellbinding mystery from the Richard & Judy bestselling author of The Glass House Kindle Edition

4.3 out of 5 stars 4,892 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£3.99


From the Publisher

black rabbit hall the vanishing of audrey wilde the glass house the birdcage
Black Rabbit Hall The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde The Glass House The Birdcage
'Completely swept me away. Glorious, beautifully written' LISA JEWELL 'An enthralling story of secrets, sisters and an unsolved mystery' KATE MORTON 'A wonderful, romantic, compelling mystery' RICHARD & JUDY BOOK CLUB 'Gorgeously written, atmospheric and twisty' CLAIRE DOUGLAS

Product description

From the Inside Flap

From the present day. . . Applecote Manor captivates Jessie with dreams of hazy summers in the Cotswolds, the perfect place to bring up her children. But the house has an unsettling history and strange rumours surround the estate. . . to the fifties. . . When teenage Margot and her three sisters arrive at Applecote during the heatwave of '59, they find their aunt and uncle still reeling from the disappearance of their daughter, Audrey, five years before. Drawn into the life Audrey left behind and the mystery of her vanishing, the stifling summer takes a shocking, deadly turn. The bonds of sisterhood will be tested and an unthinkable choice will have a decades-long legacy. . . Step back in time for a mystery of breathtaking suspense - perfect for fans of Kate Morton. 'A haunting mystery about the secrets of the past, the bonds within families, and the hidden ties that connect people across time. A story to be savoured, The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde is a book I'll be recommending to everyone I know' - Megan Miranda, author of All the Missing Girls --This text refers to the paperback edition.

From the Back Cover

From the present day . . .

Applecote Manor captivates Jessie with its promise of hazy summers in the Cotswolds. She believes it's the perfect escape for her troubled family. But the house has an unsettling history, and strange rumours surround the estate.

To the fifties . . .

When teenage Margot and her three sisters arrive at Applecote in the heatwave of '59, they find their aunt and uncle still reeling from the disappearance of their daughter Audrey five years before.

The sisters are drawn into the mystery of Audrey's vanishing - until the stifling summer takes a shocking, deadly turn. Will one unthinkable choice bind them together, or tear them apart?

Step back in time for a richly evocative mystery, where the beauty of a Cotswolds summer is vividly contrasted with the violence which shatters it.

'The most beautiful book you will read this year' LISA JEWELL

'Beautifully written with a gripping plot' KATIE FFORDE

--This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B06XCM318J
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Penguin; 1st edition (13 July 2017)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 4013 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 324 pages
  • Customer reviews:
    4.3 out of 5 stars 4,892 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

I'm an author who writes rich suspenseful novels about families - dysfunctional, passionate - and the sort of explosive secrets that can rip them apart. I write stories that I'd love to read. Mysteries. Page-turners. Worlds you can lose yourself in. Reading time is so precious: I try to make my books worthy of that sweet spot.

My office is a garden studio/shed. There are roses outside. I live in Oxford with my three children, husband, and a ridiculously hairy golden retriever, Harry.

Do say hello. Wave! Tweet me! I love hearing from readers. I'm on Twitter and Instagram @EvePollyChase and on Facebook, eve.chase.author.

'Eve Chase is an extraordinary writer. No one creates families as complex, loveable and utterly believable as Chase and she is the master of the dual time frame narrative.’ Lisa Jewell, no.1 bestselling author of The Family Upstairs and Then She Was Gone

Black Rabbit Hall

Winner of best foreign fiction novel, Saint Maur en Poche festival, Paris

The Vanishing of Audrey Wilde - published in the US as The Wildling Sisters

Longlisted for HWA Gold Crown Prize

Out soon!

The Glass House - published in the US as The Daughters of Foxcote Manor

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5
4,892 global ratings

Top reviews from United Kingdom

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 May 2021
24 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 April 2021
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Like swallowing poetry. A gem 💎 of a book
By Yvonne Anderson on 21 April 2021
Enraptured doesn’t even cover it. It is covered in pink highlights and I will consume with greed whatever this brilliant author comes up with next.
Go get The Glass House too, it is also fabulous!
Now I must wait until 2022 for her next book 📖 tap tap tappety tap
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
14 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 11 April 2021
12 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 March 2018
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 30 April 2021
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWER
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 7 July 2022
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 April 2021
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 August 2017
18 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?