RRP: £16.99 Details

This is the retail price by the manufacturer or importer of the product. Amazon confirms the relevance of this RRP, on a quarterly basis, compared to prices charged by at least one competitor or Amazon.
Learn more
Save: £4.20 (25%)
& FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. For a full refund with no deduction for return shipping, you can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition.
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Wednesday, August 17. Details
Or fastest delivery Tuesday, August 16. Order within 9 hrs 57 mins. Details
In stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"£12.79","priceAmount":12.79,"currencySymbol":"£","integerValue":"12","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"79","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"lOyCaZvfJ1DhJ%2F92YBbCPPtrXrTbJbC1kGHkzPCVrqLg%2ByHRfRaWEPYrYS72D2oq90lQw56EEQqS8ThiDGj3C5l5NGmmuW%2BYr21eCUBSlc%2FNUoguN6mrI22ZBVDZCyqj","locale":"en-GB","buyingOptionType":"NEW"},{"displayPrice":"£10.05","priceAmount":10.05,"currencySymbol":"£","integerValue":"10","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"05","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"lOyCaZvfJ1DhJ%2F92YBbCPPtrXrTbJbC1cIW38l3jar5F4H21H52KOscjawQ2zvTV7YNBkyWNhIx9Sf8oFdBYLRh6UDl4jMbI8Wz3jBI1JGetNTYQaPWwRi47agUlDmKkyEGE09862cYLjYm3ghpqe3QIZGC1fLP0ytgmrJSLjuH4qU6Pe6DNHg%3D%3D","locale":"en-GB","buyingOptionType":"USED"}]
££12.79 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
££12.79
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Dispatches from
Amazon
Sold by
Amazon
Dispatches from
Amazon
Sold by
Amazon
Return policy: Returnable within 30 days of receipt
Item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt
Metronome: The 'unputdown... has been added to your Basket
FREE delivery Wednesday, August 17. Details
Or fastest delivery Tuesday, August 16. Order within 9 hrs 57 mins. Details
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Moderate damage on cover. Missing dust cover.
Share <Embed>
Have one to sell?
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more.

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Metronome: The 'unputdownable' BBC Two Between the Covers Book Club Pick Hardcover – 31 Mar. 2022

4.0 out of 5 stars 386 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£12.79
£11.49 £7.98
Note: This item is eligible for FREE Click and Collect without a minimum order subject to availability. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you subject to availability.
  • Choose from over 20,000 locations across the UK
  • FREE unlimited deliveries at no additional cost for all customers
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Enhance your purchase

School Books
From pre-school to A-levels, find School Books for all ages Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • Metronome: The 'unputdownable' BBC Two Between the Covers Book Club Pick
  • +
  • Lessons in Chemistry: The No. 1 Sunday Times bestseller and BBC Between the Covers Book Club pick
  • +
  • The Dictator's Wife: The gripping BBC Two Between the Covers book club pick
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your basket.
Choose items to buy together.

From the Publisher

Product description

Review

Taut, unsettling and so completely charged with both tension and emotion, I found myself captivated by Metronome. I loved the clarity of its vision and the clean intensity of its prose, and I know that its vivid characters and the bleak, brutal beauty of the world they inhabit will haunt my dreams for a long time now, in the absolute best of ways -- Naomi Ishiguro

With
echoes of Emily St John Mandel and Megan Hunter, this haunting literary thriller is about survival, loss and the binds that unite and break us. Chilling, eerie and powerful -- Elizabeth Macneal

A pure, tender, terrifying vision that
had me gripped to its beat from the first page. Cleverly imagined and beautifully creepy, it's a story as moving as it is chilling -- Emma Stonex

Echoes the likes of Emily St John Mandel's Station Eleven . A compellingly crafted debut, rich in tension and atmosphere

Living Magazine

Imagined with an
impressively detailed three-dimensional soliditySunday Times

I loved it . You could feel the chill of the wind .
Fantastic; it's a great book -- Sara Cox

Stylish and thoughtful . The setup is delicious . A talented writer. The eerie claustrophobia of the setting will stay with the reader for a long while. The relationship between his characters is memorably, and often wittily, drawnLiterary Review

A great debut novel that tells a story of survival and mistrust with skill and craftStorgy

Unputdownable . An extraordinary book . Metronome might well be a brave new world created by Tom Watson, as insightful and as premonitory as Orwell's 1984

Litro

Tom Watson has conjured a relationship corroded by compromise and capitulation, and worked it into an
extraordinary love story - or rather, a story of what love looks like when affection and trust have fallen away ― The Times

Dystopian island drama that packs a punch .
A bold debutObserver

Atmospheric . Watson's use of language is nuanced and sensitive, with landscape writing especially a sensory highlight ― Guardian

An element of
1984 and Big Brother is watching you . I found myself squirreling off just so I could get another quick chapter in . It's such a page-turner -- Adrian Scarborough

It really gave
an insight to the human psyche, the power of the mind -- Emeli Sande

The rhythm of the book is what struck me -- Kate Bottley

Book Description

An eerie, striking debut by an award-winning author for fans of Emma Stonex, Francine Toon and Megan Hunter.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bloomsbury Publishing (31 Mar. 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 320 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1526639548
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1526639547
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 16.3 x 3.3 x 24.3 cm
  • Customer reviews:
    4.0 out of 5 stars 386 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Discover more of the author’s books, see similar authors, read author blogs and more


Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5
386 global ratings

Top reviews from United Kingdom

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 June 2022
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 27 April 2022
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 July 2022
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 17 July 2022
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 June 2022
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 July 2022
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 July 2022
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 June 2022