Included with a Kindle Unlimited membership.
Buy new:
£11.68
RRP: £14.99

This is the retail price by the manufacturer or importer of the product. Amazon confirms the relevance of this RRP, on a quarterly basis, compared to prices charged by at least one competitor or Amazon.
Learn more
Save: £3.31 (22%)
& FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. For a full refund with no deduction for return shipping, you can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition.
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Friday, August 19. Details
Or fastest delivery Tomorrow, August 17. Order within 6 hrs 28 mins. Details
In stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"£11.68","priceAmount":11.68,"currencySymbol":"£","integerValue":"11","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"68","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"52iSkbgSq3smNR4YvUZUCeZqW3ZVKyi9HEeoEhe%2FjautP79hDGYXBkoPFlLbCzTQ3tATSVRw4O09F8dVr49s1s8JhWFNQvKrLlSKPPnJYCPCz5DOp0J5w9EHxBWO3JW7","locale":"en-GB","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
££11.68 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
££11.68
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Dispatches from
Amazon
Sold by
Amazon
Dispatches from
Amazon
Sold by
Amazon
Return policy: Returnable within 30 days of receipt
Item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt
Harry Potter and the Cham... has been added to your Basket
Share <Embed>
Have one to sell?
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more.

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets Hardcover – 13 Aug. 2015

4.8 out of 5 stars 41,059 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Hardcover
£11.68
£9.74 £6.27
Note: This item is eligible for FREE Click and Collect without a minimum order subject to availability. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you subject to availability.
  • Choose from over 20,000 locations across the UK
  • FREE unlimited deliveries at no additional cost for all customers
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Enhance your purchase

School Books
From pre-school to A-levels, find School Books for all ages Shop now

Product description

Review

And you thought wizardry was for children. Harry Potter will make you think again. He casts his spells on grown-ups too ― James Naughtie

Funny, imaginative, magical . In the 2020s, thirty-something book-lovers will know each other by smug references to Diagon Alley and Quidditch ―
The Times

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, unlike many sequels, is as good as its predecessor . Hogwarts is a creation of genius ― TLS

One of the greatest literary adventures of modern times ―
Sunday Telegraph

Spellbinding, enchanting, bewitching stuff ―
Mirror

Book Description

Book two of this bestselling series sees Harry face his death in the Chamber of Secrets as the heir of Slytherin returns to hunt those not pure of blood - adult edition featuring stylish jacket art by Andrew Davidson

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Bloomsbury Publishing (13 Aug. 2015)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 384 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1408865408
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1408865408
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 8+ years, from customers
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 14.6 x 2.9 x 20.7 cm
  • Customer reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 41,059 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

J.K. Rowling is best-known as the author of the seven Harry Potter books, which were published between 1997 and 2007. The enduringly popular adventures of Harry, Ron and Hermione have gone on to sell over 600 million copies, be translated into over 80 languages and made into eight blockbuster films.

Alongside the Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling also wrote three short companion volumes for charity: Quidditch Through the Ages and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, in aid of Comic Relief, and The Tales of Beedle the Bard, in aid of Lumos. The companion books and original series are all available as audiobooks.

In 2016, J.K. Rowling collaborated with playwright Jack Thorne and director John Tiffany to continue Harry’s story in a stage play, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, which opened in London, followed by the USA and Australia.

In the same year, she made her debut as a screenwriter with the film Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Inspired by the original companion volume, it was the first in a series of new adventures featuring wizarding world magizoologist Newt Scamander. The second, Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, was released in 2018 and the third, Fantastic Beasts: The Secrets of Dumbledore was released in April 2022.

The screenplays, as well as the script of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, are also available as books.

Fans of Fantastic Beasts and Harry Potter can find out more at www.wizardingworld.com.

J.K. Rowling also writes novels for adults. The Casual Vacancy was published in 2012 and adapted for television in 2015. Under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith, she is the author of the highly acclaimed ‘Strike’ crime series, featuring private detective Cormoran Strike and his partner Robin Ellacott. The first of these, The Cuckoo’s Calling, was published to critical acclaim in 2013, at first without its author’s true identity being known. The Silkworm followed in 2014, Career of Evil in 2015, Lethal White in 2018 and Troubled Blood in 2020. All of the books have been adapted for television by the BBC and HBO. The sixth book in the series, Ink Black Heart, is published in August 2022.

J.K. Rowling’s 2008 Harvard Commencement speech was published in 2015 as an illustrated book, Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination, sold in aid of Lumos and university-wide financial aid at Harvard.

In 2020, J.K. Rowling released in free online instalments, The Ickabog, an original fairy tale, which she wrote over ten years ago as a bedtime story for her younger children. She decided to share the personal family favourite to help entertain children, parents and carers confined at home during the Covid-19 lockdown.

The story is now published as a book (hardback, ebook and audio) in the English language, and is translated into 26 languages, each edition with its own unique illustrations by children. J.K. Rowling is donating her royalties from The Ickabog to her charitable trust, The Volant Charitable Trust, to assist vulnerable groups who have been particularly impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic in the UK and internationally.

J.K. Rowling’s latest children’s novel, The Christmas Pig, is out now. Illustrated by Jim Field, it’s the story of a little boy called Jack, and his beloved toy, Dur Pig, and the toy that replaces Dur Pig when he’s lost on Christmas Eve – the Christmas Pig. Together, Jack and the Christmas Pig embark on a magical journey to seek something lost, and to save the best friend Jack has ever known.

As well as receiving an OBE and Companion of Honour for services to children’s literature, J.K. Rowling has received many other awards and honours, including France’s Legion d’Honneur, Spain’s Prince of Asturias Award and Denmark’s Hans Christian Andersen Award.

www.jkrowling.com

Image: Photography Debra Hurford Brown © J.K. Rowling


Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
41,059 global ratings

Top reviews from United Kingdom

HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWER
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 14 January 2019
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars Life at Hogwarts isn’t all wizard-candy and quidditch
By Djilly L. on 14 January 2019
What is there left to comment on a Harry Potter book, ? Well… my little bookworm’s comments; "I very much enjoyed this book as she tells me there is lots of action, fantasy, friendship and cleverness needed by the main characters to solve the mystery". Her favourite parts of the story are those with the house-elf Dobby, Ron’s slug burbs and Harry being dragged into Tom Riddle’s diary to a time 50 years earlier when Harry’s friend Hagrid was expelled from Hogwarts".

The Chamber of Secrets is the mystery story where Hogwarts muggle students turn into stone. And it lays much more of a foundation of the larger story than the first book. This is where Tom Riddle is introduced and where he turns into Voldemort to fight Harry. Several interesting new characters make their first appearance as well in this book; vain Professor Lockhart and Colin Creevy. And a troublesome spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls' bathroom. Of course Harry’s old enemies, Malfoy and Snape, have a prominent role. There is an interesting underlying theme of muggle-hatred that fed to some healthy discussion with my daughter.

This is my 8-year old daughter’s second ‘real’ book, as she proudly calls it – as this is a hard cover bound book that is very different than her vast collection of colourful girly picture books. I must say the colourful hard-cover version is actually quite nice and will last subsequent reading when the owner's little brother is bound to pick it op in due course.

Our daughter has seen all the Harry Potter movies, which she thoroughly enjoyed. So she has now started to read the first few books. The books are great and she is quite encouraged to actually pick it up and continue the read - as there is lots of additional Potterish detail and trivia left out from the movies that she is keen to pick up. Given that we got a her an overpriced Hermione wand, she is particularly interested in the spells. And she found a number of entertaining story elements like part of the ‘wizard's duel’ that never made it into the movie.

In the end the book is highly relatable to kids as it describes the big and small challenges that kids face every day. It shows how the characters deal with unfairness, anxiety and how boring and challenging school can be.

Somehow I have the feeling this is one of those children's books my daughter will read and reread into adulthood.
Images in this review
Customer image Customer image
Customer imageCustomer image
21 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 20 January 2019
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 21 January 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 September 2018
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 April 2019
7 people found this helpful
Report abuse
VINE VOICE
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 26 July 2017
14 people found this helpful
Report abuse