RRP: £8.99 Details

The RRP is the suggested or recommended retail price of a product set by the manufacturer and provided by a manufacturer, supplier, or seller.
Learn more
Save: £2.70 (30%)
& FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. For a full refund with no deduction for return shipping, you can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition.
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Sunday, August 14 on your first eligible order to UK or Ireland. Details
Or fastest delivery Tomorrow, August 12. Order within 7 hrs 15 mins. Details
In stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"£6.29","priceAmount":6.29,"currencySymbol":"£","integerValue":"6","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"29","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"2lzH0K5PZg2IgpCBlB462Sl6HaroaHo63N7bbw2riygGEFVxhGDHmbdjzxyp7Y1SJDqHuwHkzXyAc%2BIo4Cel4wFlb2%2F%2Fg%2Bm0iHRnIp%2FYV3Vq8Gl2S1Qj%2BTxUdD4UaPyK","locale":"en-GB","buyingOptionType":"NEW"},{"displayPrice":"£2.30","priceAmount":2.30,"currencySymbol":"£","integerValue":"2","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"30","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"XJqd7VUD4xCxdb%2FeRIGbTCdi5mHsP6fjmDnr1cEqtPHE%2Brr5JITqz9GAH3VX%2Fxwshie8%2BpQUa8YwFMghJL24hTJSbrVg3EBIqpvKCFA%2BdyEuldkdnV%2Fa3nzQjGzMmTNTNXZtzWp%2FgoSMLhlrCng50dDlScmM0BwzXYZfmDjjK4Pvzo5PpvddaA%3D%3D","locale":"en-GB","buyingOptionType":"USED"}]
££6.29 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
££6.29
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Dispatches from
Amazon
Sold by
Amazon
Dispatches from
Amazon
Sold by
Amazon
Return policy: Returnable within 30 days of receipt
Item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt
£2.80 delivery August 16 - 20. Details
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by WeBuyBooks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Over 10 Million items sold. UK Expedited shipping available on this item for 4.99. Fast shipping. Excellent Customer Feedback. Over 10 Million items sold. UK Expedited shipping available on this item for 4.99. Fast shipping. Excellent Customer Feedback.
Share <Embed>
Have one to sell?
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more.

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Gilded Ones Paperback – 4 Feb. 2021

4.5 out of 5 stars 2,186 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
£6.29
£6.29 £2.30
Note: This item is eligible for FREE Click and Collect without a minimum order subject to availability. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you subject to availability.
  • Choose from over 20,000 locations across the UK
  • FREE unlimited deliveries at no additional cost for all customers
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Enhance your purchase

The Booker Prize 2022

Discover this year's longlisted books
Learn more

Frequently bought together

  • The Gilded Ones
  • +
  • Ace of Spades
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your basket.
Choose items to buy together.

From the Publisher

Product description

Review

"Fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther are going to adore this one."- BuzzFeed

"[A] stormingly good debut" - The Observer

"Namina Forna Could Be The Toni Morrison Of YA Fantasy." - Refinery 29

"This is an empowering read that you won t want to put down and that will be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike" - Press Association

"Namina has been called the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy so this is worth reading." - The Irish News

"This story has real credibility and depth. To be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike." - Irish Examiner

"Debut author Namina Forna's created a fierce female protagonist you'll root for and a captivating world that feels so real you can step inside it." - Bookriot

"The Gilded Ones is a fierce, unflinching fantasy that marks Forna as a debut to watch." - --Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken

"Haunting, brutal, and oh-so-relevant. This book will suck you into a world where girls bleed gold, magic fills the air, and the real monsters hide behind words instead of claws." --Roseanne A. Brown, New York Times bestselling author of A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

"Formidable heroines and a thoughtful feminist mythology distinguish debut author Forna's West Africa-inspired fantasy trilogy launch. Abundant action drives the pace, while a nuanced plot advocates social change by illustrating the myriad ways in which society cages and commodifies women." --Publishers Weekly

About the Author

Namina Forna is a young adult novelist and the Indie and New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Ones. Forna was born in Sierra Leone, West Africa, where her father and grandmother raised her on fantastic stories of Africa’s epic past. She moved to America when she was nine and settled just outside of Atlanta, Georgia, where she was valedictorian of her high school. For undergrad, she attended Spelman College as a Presidential Scholar and graduated Magna Cum Laude and Phi Beta Kappa with a BA in English. Forna then continued to the MFA film production program at the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematic Arts, where she graduated with honors. In 2018, Forna sold her first novel, The Gilded Ones, in a significant six-figure deal, and then swiftly sold the movie rights with herself attached as screenwriter and Misha Green (Underground, Lovecraft Country) attached to produce. She is the first Sierra Leonean to have a major young adult book deal, and the first to have a major film deal. Forna divides her time between Los Angeles, Georgia, and Sierra Leone. She loves building fantastical worlds and telling stories with fierce female leads. The Gilded Ones is the first in a feminist fantasy trilogy and is currently being published in thirteen different countries.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Usborne Publishing Ltd; 1st edition (4 Feb. 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 416 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1474959571
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1474959575
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 14 - 17 years
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 13.1 x 2.7 x 19.9 cm
  • Customer reviews:
    4.5 out of 5 stars 2,186 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Namina Forna is a young adult novelist based in Los Angeles, and the author of the epic fantasy YA novel The Gilded Ones. Originally from Sierra Leone, West Africa, she moved to the US when she was nine and has been traveling back and forth ever since. Namina loves building fantastical worlds and telling stories with fierce female leads.


Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5
2,186 global ratings

Top reviews from United Kingdom

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 10 February 2021
8 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 4 February 2021
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 February 2021
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
VINE VOICE
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 25 May 2021
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse