Buying Options

Unlimited reading. Over 2 million titles. Learn more
Read for £0.00
This title is available to read for £0.00 for Prime members. Learn More
OR
Kindle Price: £2.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a group.
Learn more

Buying and sending Kindle Books to others

Select quantity
Choose delivery method and buy Kindle Books
Recipients can read on any device

These Kindle Books can only be redeemed by recipients in your country. Redemption links and Kindle Books cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Share <Embed>
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more.

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

The Forgotten Village: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction about love, loss and secrets by [Lorna Cook]

Follow the author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Forgotten Village: Absolutely heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction about love, loss and secrets Kindle Edition

4.4 out of 5 stars 5,894 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
£2.99


From the Publisher

The Forgotten Village, Lorna Cook, Historical Fiction, Historical Romance, English History The Forbidden Promise, Lorna Cook, Historical Fiction, English History, World War Two The Girl from the Island, Lorna Cook, Kate Morton, The Rose Code, Kate Quinn The Dressmaker&amp;amp;#39; Secret, Lorna Cook, Historical Fiction, War, Family Saga, Time Slip
The Forgotten Village The Forbidden Promise The Girl from the Island The Dressmaker's Secret
Reviews ' A gripping tale of secrets and love... I loved it' Liz Fenwick ‘Compelling, dramatic, with a great twist' Jenny Ashcroft ‘A book to get lost in…’ Tracy Rees 'I inhale everything she writes' Laura Jane Williams
Kindle
Paperback
Audiobook

Product description

Review

“A coastal village abandoned in wartime, a haunting expression in an old photograph, and a charismatic TV historian: from these raw ingredients Lorna Cook creates an intriguing mystery that will keep you wanting to read more.”
―GILL PAUL

“A dual-narrative story set in a Dorset ghost village is such a tantalising premise and Lorna Cook's lovely book absolutely does it justice. I ended up so absorbed that I read it in a single day.”
―KATE RIORDAN

“Compelling, rich in detail and vividly told, The Forgotten Wife explores love and its darker side against the backdrop of a fascinating and little known slice of WW2 history. Perfect for readers of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton.”
―NIKOLA SCOTT

“A gripping tale of secrets and love… I loved it.”
―LIZ FENWICK

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

LORNA COOK is the author of the Kindle #1 bestseller The Forgotten Village. It was her debut novel and the recipient of both the Romantic Novelists’ Association Katie Fforde Debut Romantic Novel Award and the Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers. Lorna lives in coastal South East England with her husband, daughters and a Staffy named Socks. A former journalist and publicist, she owns more cookery books than one woman should, but barely gets time to cook.

--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B07J2DY4KW
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Avon (4 April 2019)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1938 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 354 pages
  • Customer reviews:
    4.4 out of 5 stars 5,894 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Lorna Cook is the author of the The Girl From the Island, The Forbidden Promise and the Kindle Number 1 Bestseller 'The Forgotten Village', which was her debut novel, staying in the Kindle Top 100 for four months. It has sold over 150,000 copies, has eleven overseas/foreign language editions, won the Romantic Novelists' Association Katie Fforde Debut Romantic Novel of the Year Award and the RNA Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers.

Keep up with all her news and bookish chat at:

www.lornacookauthor.com

www.facebook.com/LornaCookWriter

www.instagram.com/lornacookauthor

www.twitter.com/LornaCookAuthor

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5
5,894 global ratings

Top reviews from United Kingdom

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 April 2019
71 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 June 2019
Customer image
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it!
By Carol A on 22 June 2019
Omg - thank you to the author for this book: Forgotten Village, just this second finished it. Loved it. Me and my daughter discovered Tyneham Village & Worbarrow Bay last Summer during our Dorset holiday and this made reading the book even more enjoyable - I was transported back there, to both time zones whilst sitting reading engrossed in my little garden in Bedfordshire!
Don't want to include any spoilers but a just perfect ending. 👍
Just for fun including a photo I took quite by chance of my daughter at Tyneham alongside a photo I later found online of Tyneham past! 😯
Images in this review
Customer image
Customer image
35 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 April 2019
40 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 1 June 2019
20 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 12 April 2019
30 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 April 2019
25 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 13 April 2019
22 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 May 2019
14 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?