RRP: £9.99 Details

This is the retail price by the manufacturer or importer of the product. Amazon confirms the relevance of this RRP, on a quarterly basis, compared to prices charged by at least one competitor or Amazon.
Learn more
Save: £1.64 (16%)
& FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. For a full refund with no deduction for return shipping, you can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition.
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Monday, August 22 on your first eligible order to UK or Ireland. Details
Or fastest delivery Tomorrow, August 20. Order within 14 hrs 32 mins. Details
In stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"£8.35","priceAmount":8.35,"currencySymbol":"£","integerValue":"8","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"35","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"kwGUA4N8pQqBxlEISiEIbnmomldQ7S8YFZzh%2FBZtwXspcvqjuM92b%2FZvNV2t6Al2AwfcXcLIXA8kA2Jgh0ZBPuHy7qFruTafjzs3oqo%2FsFh%2FK4xQpofMiBB%2BlMVDkxeq","locale":"en-GB","buyingOptionType":"NEW"},{"displayPrice":"£1.57","priceAmount":1.57,"currencySymbol":"£","integerValue":"1","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"57","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"fDaECyMlMBESwY0nBHGAw1ZZqyZpw1jXpnA9VFZi3kWPxZ1VSA7bKinKDvpxdNXvEE8%2FH1sNHQSQlQwUH8fL6a6SlCNykuuZ7UHTLs0R3zdF16quFP2O%2BGIPfQ1C1421Chh0iXf%2Fp4E74zxopl7PDwK72nllQYTJxMBem7iQNZntX8bRgY8dKg%3D%3D","locale":"en-GB","buyingOptionType":"USED"}]
££8.35 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
££8.35
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Delivery cost, delivery date and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Dispatches from
Amazon
Sold by
Amazon
Dispatches from
Amazon
Sold by
Amazon
Return policy: Returnable within 30 days of receipt
Item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt
£2.80 delivery August 25 - 27. Details
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Share <Embed>
Have one to sell?
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more.

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

A Case of Exploding Mangoes Paperback – 4 Jun. 2009

4.2 out of 5 stars 406 ratings

Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
Paperback
£8.35
£7.64 £1.57
. Terms | Shop items
Note: This item is eligible for FREE Click and Collect without a minimum order subject to availability. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you subject to availability.
  • Choose from over 20,000 locations across the UK
  • FREE unlimited deliveries at no additional cost for all customers
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Enhance your purchase

School Books
From pre-school to A-levels, find School Books for all ages Shop now

Frequently bought together

  • A Case of Exploding Mangoes
  • +
  • Our Lady of Alice Bhatti
  • +
  • Red Birds: Mohammed Hanif
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your basket.
Some of these items are dispatched sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Special offers and product promotions

  • Buy at least 4 items of your choice and save 5%. Offered by Amazon.co.uk. Shop items

Product description

Review

Zesty, highly inventive...Hanif is a gifted writer...His explosive finale is brilliantly constructed ― Daily Mail

Exuberant and satirical: this is an angry comedy about Zia's brutal legacy to Pakistan ―
Observer

Witty, elegaic and deliciously anarchic -- John Le Carré

A Pakistan not reducible to generals, jets and jihadisa...a debut novel shaped as much by the subcontinents fascination with history and historical figures as by political thrillers in the tradition of Forsyth and Le Carre.... Along the way there is plenty of humour and slapstick... Cadet life is entertainingly evoked, overflowing with japes, jerkoffs, hashish highs and liquored lows... The most unexpected aspect of Mangoes is also its most compelling - the wryly told story of a love affair between two cadets ―
Guardian

Entertaining.... darkly comic.... There are sharply observed sketches of toadying ministers, mindlessly efficient security chiefs, filthy prison cells, sex-mad Arab sheikhs and erudite communist prisoners...as a piece of political satire,
A Case of Exploding Mangoes deserves a high mark ― Independent

About the Author

Mohammed Hanif was born in Okara, Pakistan, in 1965. He graduated from Pakistan Air Force Academy as Pilot Officer, but subsequently left to pursue a career in journalism. He has written plays for the stage and BBC radio, and his film The Long Night has been shown at film festivals around the world. His first novel, A Case of Exploding Mangoes, won the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best First Novel in 2008.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ 0099516748
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Vintage; 1st edition (4 Jun. 2009)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 304 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 9780099516743
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0099516743
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 12.9 x 1.9 x 19.8 cm
  • Customer reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 406 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Discover more of the author’s books, see similar authors, read author blogs and more


Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
406 global ratings

Top reviews from United Kingdom

Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 28 November 2015
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 15 September 2020
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 22 February 2015
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 8 December 2020
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 31 March 2016
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 2 February 2018
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 3 February 2014
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 23 July 2014